Dennis W. Jahnigen Memorial Award

Dennis W. Jahnigen, MD (1947-1998), was acclaimed as an extraordinary teacher, receiving numerous awards from students and faculty. In 1998, the AGS awarded him the Milo D. Leavitt Award to recognize his distinguished career in geriatrics education. Dr. Jahnigen's clinical skills and heartfelt, compassionate concern for older adults continue to flourish in the many students who have benefited from his teaching and mentorship. 


This award is given annually to an AGS member who has provided leadership to train students in geriatrics and has contributed significantly to the progress of geriatrics education in health professions schools. Teaching expertise as well as educational program development is valued in the selection of the recipient for this honor. 

Nomination Process 

Nominations must consist of a letter of nomination, at least one additional letter of support from colleagues, and the nominee's curriculum vitae. The nomination letters should specifically address how the individual's accomplishments relate to the purpose of the award. 

Please provide a 150-word summary statement of your nominees’ achievements which we will use in our announcements and speeches.  Your summary should focus on the impact that they have had or will have on the field of geriatrics.


$1,500 will be awarded to the recipient.

Applications for 2024 are now closed. 

View Current & Past Awardees