Jeffrey H. Silverstein Memorial Award for Emerging Investigators in the Surgical and Related Medical Specialties


The Silverstein Memorial Award recognizes emerging investigators in the surgical and related medical specialties whose research is focused on geriatrics in their specialties and who are committed to a career in research on aging. 


The Silverstein Memorial Award is open to junior and mid-career investigators from the following surgical and related medical specialties: 

  • Anesthesiology 

  • Emergency Medicine 

  • General Surgery 

  • Gynecology 

  • Ophthalmology 

  • Orthopaedic Surgery 

  • Otolaryngology 

  • Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation 

  • Radiology 

  • Radiology Oncology 

  • Thoracic Surgery 

  • Urology 

  • Vascular Surgery 

Please contact AGS if your specialty is not listed, but you feel you might be eligible. 

Eligible applicants will have held a faculty appointment for no longer than 10 years since completion of post-graduate training in their discipline and will be committed to sustaining a research career in the geriatrics aspects of their discipline. 

Applicants must demonstrate evidence of a record of accomplishments in aging/geriatrics research. This may include being (a) first-author for an original aging/geriatrics research publication (not a review article); (b) the recipient of pilot funding awards for aging/geriatrics research; (c) lead presenter for a previous abstract describing research investigations; (d) lead presenter for at least two poster/oral presentations of aging research at national meeting; or (e) recipient of at least one research grant submitted as principal investigator. Applicants must also demonstrate evidence of a career plan related to aging research. 

Application Process

Applicants must complete the Award Nomination form (select "Apply Now" below). Additionally, a research abstract from the nominee must be submitted electronically for presentation at the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting. Click here for the abstract submission site. 

Materials necessary for submission with the Award Nomination form include the items below. They can be submitted electronically with the Nomination Form, or sent to Denise McAlpin at

  • A biosketch (NIH-style, 4-page maximum) 

  • An applicant letter attesting to the nominee’s primary role in research and the importance/significance of the nominee’s studies, as well as the general research accomplishments of the investigator. 

  • Three letters of recommendation. 

  • A 150-word summary statement of your nominees’ achievements which we will use in our announcements and speeches.  Your summary should focus on the impact that they have had or will have on the field of geriatrics.


$1,000 will be awarded to the recipient.

Applications for 2024 are now closed. 

View Current & Past Awardees